Our Board

Board Member Profiles

Julie Wells

Julie Wells was appointed Chair of the Trust in May 2018. She began her career as a secondary school teacher, before becoming a children's librarian in public libraries. She did this for about 12 years, followed by 6 years in which she returned to schools as a teacher librarian. Julie has been highly active within the CBCA SA. Julie is Company Secretary of the CBCA where she was the National President between 2010 and 2012. She has also been a board member of the SA Writers Centre. Julie joined the board of the Trust in May 2016. She also serves as chair of the Trust's selection committee.


Meredyth Sarah AM.

Meredyth was appointed to the Board in May 2018

She has experience in organisational governance, serving in a voluntary capacity on various Boards and Committees. She was a member of the original May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust Support Group in South Australia and has maintained an interest ever since.

She is married with four children and eight grandchildren.

Meredyth believes that good literature, especially for children, is essential for increasing language skills, knowledge and imagination. She also believes that the work of the Trust in encouraging young authors and illustrators is an important way of ensuring the continuing creation of good literature for children of all ages.


Nicholas Linke

Nicholas has been a Board Member since May 2018. He is a Senior Partner at Fisher Jeffries, commercial lawyers, where he practises in employment and insurance law and commercial litigation. Nicholas was formerly a Committee Member of Raising Literacy Australia Inc. for over 10 years (formerly The Big Book Club Inc.) and currently serves as the Chair of Restless Dance Theatre Inc. and SALA Inc., and sits on the Boards of Adelaide Central School of Art Inc, the Adelaide Fringe Inc and the Centre for Creative Health. He has an LLB (Hons) and BEc from the University of Adelaide.


Dianne Gray

Dianne was appointed to the Board in 2011. She was elected Chair in May 2013 following the death of the Trust's co-founder, the Hon. Ian Wilson AM, and retired as Chair in October 2015 when Elizabeth Clare took over the role.

Dianne was a practising lawyer for many years, with a particular interest in public law and law reform. More recently she worked with the South Australian Law Reform Institute at the University of Adelaide, retiring in September 2017. She has experience in organisational governance arrangements and is a graduate and member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has served in a voluntary capacity on boards and committees, including several associated with schools.

She is married and has three children and seven grandchildren. She believes that reading helps children and young adults to understand themselves, other people and the world around them as well as providing much pleasure. The work of the Trust in assisting Australian authors and illustrators to create high-quality literature that encourages young readers and writers is a valuable contribution to society.



Board Members : (L-R) Julie Wells, Meredyth Sarah, Nicholas Linke and Dianne Gray